RSS

Nugget # 72 Life is like a game of Chess!

08 Sep

Checkmate? NO, the King has got one more move!

Hi friends,

This week I want to share a life lesson we can learn from the story of a very famous mural (wall painting) in Europe. Read on to find out more….

Every year in Europe they have a tournament that is world renowned in the chess community. At the backdrop of it all, there is the world famous mural called Checkmate.

As you can see in the picture above, it shows Satan playing a game of chess with an opponent. Satan is the man with the red feathered hat. We can see a sly grin on his face as he thinks he has got the king completely surrounded and he whispers checkmate. The other player is completely in distress as he thinks he has got no more moves and is about to be defeated in the game. The name at the bottom of the painting is Checkmate.

One day one of the masters of chess was taking a break from playing in the tournament and he was taking a close look at this painting and he started noticing the chess positions on the chess board in the painting. He kept looking at it and right in the middle of the tournament he screamed out loud , “No its wrong. The painting is wrong…… The king has one more move!”

Friend, the same thing applies to us in life. When all of hell is grinning and laughing and saying checkmate over  our life, we just need to say out loud: “… I don’t think so because the King has got one more move!”

Click below to listen to a Sermon by Jentzen Franklin based on the above story:

http://youtu.be/bArZw5dejUw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bArZw5dejUw

Nugget of Life : Remember that no matter how bad it looks, you cannot lose in this chess game of life coz our King of Kings has always got one more move!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Cheers,

Sparky Laurie

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2012 in NUGGETS OF LIFE, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Nugget # 72 Life is like a game of Chess!

  1. Rafael Ayorinde

    November 20, 2012 at 7:55 am

    Woooh! I’m holding on.. Yes yes!! the King has one more move and that is more than enough for Me. I’m soo Winning. Thank you Jesus. thank u laurie I hav seen ur light.

     
    • sparkylaurie

      November 20, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      I say yay…bro…you got it right there.I’m so happy that what I shared helped…:) Thanks for making my day with your comment! God bless! Take care.

       
  2. Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com

    September 8, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    I have heard this story before, but I have never heard it compared to the Christian journey. This is amazing. I can relate. I cannot recall how many times I thought I had run out of options when Jesus stepped in and show me another. Jesus is my insurance. Therefore, I always have another move.

    Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful post.

     
    • sparkylaurie

      September 9, 2012 at 5:26 am

      Thanks Noel, glad you enjoyed this post. Actually I just heard this at church this week.I found it awesome and wanted to share. I loved the way you put it….When Jesus is our insurance, we will never run out of options! Amen!:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
