RSS

Nugget # 70 Life is like Sailing!

23 Aug

 

“I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving: To reach the port of heaven, we must sail sometimes with the wind and sometimes against it-but we must sail, and not drift nor lie at anchor.”- Oliver Wendell Holmes

Hi friends,

The last couple of days have been ones of tremendous learning for me. So I just feel like having a heart to heart with you this week. While I’m happily employed now, I’ve found that there can be numerous things that being out of touch with can cause within us fear- the fear of appearing to be wrong. I asked myself more than once, why am I so afraid of being wrong? I wondered…. was it simple self protection or just plain vanity?

But then something my husband said really made me sit up and think hard. He asked me: “Laura, if only we would be just like our little boy; not afraid to make mistakes and ever so ready to learn and move on when we do, wouldn’t we be much happier?” The question to ask is Why is it that we as grownups get stuck instead of moving on?

Then and there I learnt a lesson, a good one too that revealed a hidden part of me that was somehow somewhere within so afraid of being wrong. Isn’t that exactly what our Lord Jesus meant by us becoming like little children- bold and unafraid?

And so I’ve decided to set my sails up; ready to face the wind, a smile on my face, come what may, I am going to enjoy the ride. Wishing you the same 🙂

Nugget of Life : “A Ship is safe in the harbor, but that’s not what ships are built for.”

Have a pleasant week.

Cheers,

Sparky Laurie

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2012 in NUGGETS OF LIFE, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Nugget # 70 Life is like Sailing!

  1. Vilho

    August 24, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Hello. It’s been a while. But I see your blog is as awesome as ever.

    This is great advice by the way. I’ve always had trouble with accepting the fact that I’m wrong sometimes. You’re right, we shouldn’t be afraid to make mistakes.
    After all, we learn from our mistakes! 🙂 Have a great weekend.

     
    • sparkylaurie

      August 25, 2012 at 5:22 am

      Thanks so much Vilho…its great to hear from you! Glad you liked this post. You too have a wonderful weekend.:)
      Cheers,
      Sparky Laurie

       

Leave a Reply

 
