RSS

Nugget # 66 Life lesson from my little boy!

24 Jul

Hi friends,

This week I’d like to share a life lesson that came to my mind as I watched the little “power-struggles” of my two and half year old son.

I smiled amused as I heard the small grunts of my little one as he unsuccessfully tried to put his backpack on by himself without allowing me to help him with it. After some time, he wanted to eat a banana himself but he just could not figure out how to peel it. As I reached out to help him, he gave me a “don’t  even think about it ” look. Later, I listened to his frustrated little whimpers and snorts as he had managed to put his shoes on himself but with the wrong foot in each shoe. Once again he would not allow me to even get anywhere near the shoes.  The same thing continued as his little hands tried other things. I was filled with joy as I watched my little one take his first steps to independence but seeing his frustration as he tried to do things himself made me wish that he would just let me help him!:)

I reflected on my little one’s actions and started thinking…. How very like him we all are. The business of letting go of things – is not easy. For any of us. We all want to do things in our way and are so unwilling to surrender things to God and watch and learn from Him even when we know that His ways are definitely higher and better than our ways.

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”- Isa 55:9

I can almost imagine God with an amused grin on His kind face as He watches us stubbornly cling on tightly to that which we could leave peacefully in His gentle hands.

Click to sing along with Jim Reeves: HAVE THINE OWN WAY LORD

http://youtu.be/U9R5bQhxnTM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9R5bQhxnTM

Nugget of Life: “If God brings you to it, He will bring you through it.”

Have a blessed week,

Cheers,

Sparky Laurie

Related post : LIFE LESSON FROM A SPECIAL PERSON IN LIFE

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in NUGGETS OF LIFE, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Nugget # 66 Life lesson from my little boy!

  1. nightshade130

    July 24, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    I really like the new material keep coming up with here Sparkylaurie.

    You are such a refreshing evangelist that I’ve ever met. I really like your post today. We as children like to learn to do things our own way to test how much we are able to do with our own might and power but there comes a time when it is through the Spirit of God that we are able to accomplish things faster and with much ease. Our own understanding takes us as far as our abilities allow, however, we as little children sometimes need to learn to lean on our Father for help when the going is getting tough. Such a blessed post today.

    Blessings!
    Sherline 😀

     
    • sparkylaurie

      July 24, 2012 at 4:41 pm

      Hi Sherline…thank you so much for this awesome comment.I feel so good reading what you have written.I just love the way you can relate to what I share and you are able to find something good in what you see….your comments always make my day!You too have a blessed day. 🙂
      Love n prayers,
      Laura

       
  2. alienhippy

    July 24, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Thank you, just what I needed to read today. Love and hugs friend. xx 🙂

     
    • sparkylaurie

      July 24, 2012 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Lisa.So glad that what I wrote blessed you… Love n hugs to you too! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
